
STA丁匡OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORN:A ENV:RONMENTAL PROTttCT10N AGENCY
STATtt WATER RttSOURCES CONTROL BOARD

DIViS:ON OF WATER R:GHTS

ORDER WR 2014‐ 0018‐DWR

ln the Matter of Violation of Annual Use Reporting Requirements by

Nancy Z.Ward

SOURCE: Unnamed Stream

COUNTY: Shasta

Acting Assistant Deputy Director John O'Hagan, Division of Water Rights (Division), through authority
delegated by the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board), hereby issues an Administrative
Civil Liability Order (ACL Order) against Nancy Z.Ward (Ward).

THE STATE WATER BOARD, OR ITS DELEGEE, FINDS AS FOLLOWS:

1. On October 25,2013, the Assistant Deputy Director of the Division of Water Rights issued an
ACL Complaint against Ward, which proposes to collect $10,000 from Ward for the alleged violation
of Order WR 2013-0045-DWR, a Cease and Desist Order (CDO) issued on October 7,2013, pursuant
to California Water Code section 1834 and authority delegated pursuant to State Water Resources
Control Board Resolution 2012-0029, alleging violation of annual reporting requirements and failure to
file the required report of water use for 2012 by the requested deadline. The ACL Complaint was
served via certified mail and received by Ward on October 29,2013. A copy of the ACL Complaint is
attached hereto as Exhibit A.

2. Pursuant to California Water Code section 7, the State Water Board is authorized to delegate authority
to the Deputy Director of Water Rights. State Water Resources Control Board Resolution
No. 2012-0029 (Resolution) delegates some of the State Water Board's authority to the Deputy
Director of Water Rights. Section 4.9.2 of the Resolution authorizes the Deputy Director to issue an
Order imposing Administrative Civil Liability when a Complaint has been issued and no hearing has
been requested in the period provided by California Water Code section 't055. Section 4.9.2 of the
Resolution allows this authority to be redelegated to the Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights.

3. No hearing was requested within 20 days of Ward receiving service of the ACL Complaint. California
Water Code section 1055(c) and Resolution No. 2012-0029 authorize the Assistant Deputy Director
to issue an ACL Order imposing liability for up to the amount proposed in the ACL Complaint.
Accordingly, the Acting Assistant Deputy Director hereby issues this finalACL Order imposing liability
of $10,000.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1. The Administrative Civil Liability Complaint attached hereto as Exhibit A is fully incorporated herein
and made part of this Order.

2. ln adopting this Order, the State Water Board, or its delegee, have considered all relevant
circumstances, including but not limited to those specifically identified in the ACL Complaint, as
required by California Water Code section 1055.3 in determining that Ward shall be assessed
the civil liability of $10,000.
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3. Ward shall remit, within 30 days of the date of this Order, a check or money order payment of the full
penalty of $10,000 to:

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Enforcement Section
P.O. Box 2000
Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

Fulfillment of Ward's obligations under this Order constitutes full and final satisfaction liability for the
alleged violation specifically identified in this Order. The State Water Board reserves the right to take
further enforcement action for any future violations.

4. Ward or any interested person or entity may petition the State Water Board for reconsideration of this
Order in accordance with California Water Code section 1 120 et seq. Such petition shall be filed not
later than 30 days from the date of this Order.

5. The Assistant Deputy Director of the Division of Water Rights is authorized to seek recovery of the
liability imposed, as authorized by California Water Code section 1055.4, or refer this matter to the
Office of Attorney General for further enforcement action if Ward fails to comply with remitting
payment of the full penalty within 30 days of the date of this Order.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ApQ^-O'*-UO
John O'Hagan, Acting Assistant Deputy Director
Division of l(ater Rights

Dまed麻 292011



EXH:B!TA

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALlFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECT10N AGENCY
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BoARD

ADMINiSTRATiVE CiViL L:AB:LITY COMPLA,NT

ln the Matter of Violation of Annual Reporting Requirements by

Nancy Z Ward

SOURCE: Unnamed Stream

COUNTY: Shasta

YOU ARE HEREBY G:VEN NOTICE THAT:

l     Nancy Z 1/vard(referred to herein as Licensee)is a‖ eged tO have viOlated Order 2013-0045-
DVVR,a Cease and Desist Order(cDO)issued On octOber 7,2013,(Final CDO)by the
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thatthe 2012 Annual Use Report must be f‖ ed on‖ ne The First Notice provided instruclons

on how to accessthe RMS system and submitthe 2012 Annual Use Rep。 ■on‖ ne and also

nOtined Licensee to cOntactthe Division by phone or email with any questions regarding the

new reporting process

Licensee fa‖ ed to submitthe 2012 Annual Use Reportonhne by the deadhne,」 une 30,2013
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The Unned States Postal Service confirmed receipt ofthe Draft CDO on August 27,2013 at
4:23 pm via certified ma‖ (Cen#7004-2510‐ 0003-9147-7109)
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The Final CDO was sent certined mail(Celt#7004-2510-0003-9148-0161)and delivered on

October 9,2013 atl:30 pm

Licensee violated the Final(〕 DO byfa‖ ing to immediately submitthe 2012 Annual Use

Report and Licensee remains out Of Comp‖ ance 18 days afterthe Final CDO wasissued on

October 7,2013
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CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged annual use filing violations and administrative efficiency,
the Division makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer). Licensee
can avoid further enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to file the annual use
violation by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Offer, provided below, as
well as in the Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing or
Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) enclosed hereto as Exhibit "A."

This Conditional Offer requires Licensee to pay an expedited payment amount (Expedited
Payment Amount) of $1,000 and waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of the
alleged violations. This expedited payment amount is based on Licensee's failure to comply
to dale along with staff costs incurred in preparing the Final CDO and this ACL.

To accept the Conditional Offer, Licensee must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver
along with the Expedited Payment Amount within 20 days of receipt of this complaint.

lf there are extenuating circumstances that Licensee would like to discuss, such as an inability
to pay the Expedited Payment Amount, then Licensee may contact John O'Hagan, Enforcement
Section Manager, with that information as soon as possible but no later than the 20 days from
receipt of this complaint.

RIGHT TO HEARING

Licensee may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such
request for hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that this
notice is received as required by Water Code section 1055, subdivision (b).

lf Licensee requests a hearing, Licensee will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest
the allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. lf a
hearing is requested, separate notice setling the time and place for the hearing will be mailed
not less than 10 days before the hearing date. The Division may convene a settlement
conference prior to noticing a hearing date.

lf Licensee requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to
impose the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount
authorized by statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board
may take any appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and 1050 et seq. of
the Water Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrlne. Any State Water
Board order imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

lf Licensee does not wish to request a hearing within 20 days of receipt of this complaint,
Licensee shall waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of this matter, electronically
file the necessary 2012 Annual Use Report and remit a cashieis check or money order for
the Expedited Payment Amount set forth in paragraph 17 above, to:

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Attn : Enforcement Section
P.O. Box 2000
Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

lf Licensee does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount, nor
request a hearing within 20 days of the date this complaint is received, then lhe State Water
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8oard w‖lissue an ACL Order and seek recovery ofthe‖ ab‖ ity imposed as autho‖zed by

Water Code section 1055 4

STATE VVATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
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