
ITEM: 
 

10 

SUBJECT: 
 

California Department of Parks and Recreation, Empire Mine State 
Park 
 

BOARD ACTION: 
 

Consideration of an Administrative Civil Liability Order 

BACKGROUND: 
 

The California Department of Parks and Recreation (State Parks) 
owns and operates the Empire Mine State Historic Park in Nevada 
County.  The discharge of untreated mine drainage from an adit 
within the park to surface water is regulated by Waste Discharge 
Requirements (WDRs) Order R5-2006-0058, which was adopted 
in June 2006.  Because State Parks could not immediately comply 
with the effluent limits in the WDRs, the Board adopted Time 
Schedule Order (TSO) R5-2006-0059 concurrently with the 
WDRs.  The TSO contains performance-based interim effluent 
limits, and allowed State Parks until 18 May 2010 to come into 
compliance with the final effluent limits.  
 
State Parks determined that it needs to install a treatment system 
in order to meet the final effluent limits.  However, the system is 
not yet in place, and as of 18 May 2010, State Park’s self- 
monitoring reports show that it is violating the final effluent limits 
for a number of constituents.  The Prosecution Team anticipates 
that these effluent limit violations will continue until the treatment 
system is installed.  Currently, State Parks is accruing mandatory 
minimum penalties at an estimated rate of $21,000 to $42,000 per 
month.  According to State Parks’ recent progress report, the 
treatment system should be constructed by October 2011.   
 

ISSUES: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

California Water Code Section 13385 requires that the Water 
Boards assess mandatory minimum penalties for serious and non-
serious violations of NPDES permits.  A mandatory minimum 
penalty of $3,000 must be assessed for each serious violation, 
defined, in part, as any waste discharge that violates the effluent 
limitations contained in the applicable waste discharge 
requirements by either 40% or 20%, depending on the constituent.  
A mandatory minimum penalty of $3,000 must also be assessed 
for each non-serious or chronic violation whenever an effluent 
limitation is exceeded four or more times in any period of six 
consecutive months, not counting the first three violations.  As of 
18 May 2010, the discharges of waste from the Empire Mine State 
Historic Park resulted in serious and non-serious effluent limitation 
violations for which mandatory minimum penalties must be 
assessed. 
 
On 4 November 2010, the Executive Officer issued Administrative 
Civil Liability Complaint R5-2010-0544, proposing that the 
Department be assessed mandatory minimum penalties in the 
amount of $84,000 for effluent limit violations specifically identified 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

in Attachment A to the ACL Complaint as being subject to a 
mandatory minimum penalty.  The ACL Complaint was 
accompanied by Hearing Procedures which describe the process 
that must be followed if the matter proceeds to a hearing.  
 
State Parks subsequently waived its right to have a hearing 
conducted within 90 days after being served with the ACL 
Complaint, and stated that it wished to engage the Board in 
settlement discussions.  However, State Parks has not provided 
any further communication as to the issues it wishes to discuss, 
and has not responded to inquiries from Board staff.  State Parks 
did not submit any evidence that it wishes the Board to consider 
nor any policy statements by the 3 January 2011 deadline in the 
Hearing Procedures. 
 
The Prosecution Team’s review of the self-monitoring reports 
indicates that the data has been correctly reported, and that there 
is no legal reason or recognized statutory defense or exemption to 
the imposition of mandatory minimum penalties.  Therefore, the 
Prosecution Team has brought this matter before the Board. 
 
Under California Water Code section 13385, the Water Board 
must at a minimum assess the recommended mandatory minimum 
penalty of $3,000 per violation and may assess up to the statutory 
maximum of $10,000 for each day in which the violation occurs.  
The Prosecution Team is recommending that the Board only 
assess the mandatory minimum penalty amount in this case, as 
State Park’s December 2010 progress report states that it is 
progressing with the design and construction of the treatment 
system.  
 
 

RECOMMENDATION: 
 

Prosecution Team recommends that the Board adopt the 
Administrative Civil Liability Order as proposed  
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